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Hard to believe that Daryl Ruff would prefer J-39 sailing to Alaska and back for 3-months over sailing IOMs with us at Surprise 
Lake, but it is a cold fact. I’ll admit Daryl does look healthy and happy here with a 6.5 lb. Silver in Myers Chuk, AK… 
 
Gig Harbor MYC Regatta #8 – IOM Class (August 18, 2018 at Surprise Lake in Milton, WA) 
Bob Wells Reporting & Scoring: 
 Another classic Surprise Lake day with ultra-comfortable temperatures, mixed cloudy and sunny skies, 
and the wind was mixed too, but mostly as the predicted southwesterly. We had a nice turnout of our 2018 
regulars, with excused absences from regulars Daryl Ruff (sailing to Alaska and back slowly) and Jerry Brower 
(headed to UK IOM Nationals). Sailing was so light early the booms wouldn’t go out in the occasional “gusts” of 
say 1.5 knots. Mostly it was a shifty 2-7 knots, which is usual here in summer. 
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Position Skipper Sail # Hull Score 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 
1 Steve Young 73 Vision 30.0 3.0 8.0 6.0 1.0 4.0 6.0 2.0 1.0 1.0 4.0 1.0 2.0 1.0 3.0 1.0 
2 Bob Wells 12 K2 31.0 2.0 4.0 1.0 7.0 2.0 3.0 1.0 4.0 2.0 5.0 3.0 1.0 5.0 1.0 2.0 
3 Joe Damico 86 V9-jd 33.0 1.0 1.0 4.0 2.0 1.0 4.0 4.0 5.0 5.0 1.0 2.0 3.0 2.0 5.0 3.0 
4 Dennis Pittis 57 Alternative 56.0 5.0 3.0 2.0 6.0 5.0 1.0 7.0 6.0 7.0 2.0 6.0 5.0 4.0 6.0 5.0 
5 Mike Hansow 53 V10 58.0 4.0 6.0 3.0 4.0 6.0 2.0 6.0 3.0 3.0 6.0 5.0 7.0 6.0 4.0 7.0 
6 David Jensen 168 RR2 (Woody) 59.0 8.0 5.0 5.0 5.0 3.0 5.0 5.0 2.0 4.0 3.0 7.0 6.0 3.0 7.0 6.0 
7 Bill Wilson 69 Kantun SMX 62.0 6.0 2.0 7.0 3.0 7.0 7.0 3.0 7.0 6.0 7.0 4.0 4.0 7.0 2.0 4.0 

 
 Some funny stuff for me was when guys finished higher than typical brings unfamiliar responsibilities to 
record or call-out finishers. Dennis Pittis and Bill Wilson were both slow on the uptake to call out the places 
when 2nd and Mike Hansow flubbed his race win when he didn’t list all the finishers. Hehe. Dennis was 
excellent recording the scores after his win, so there is real progress here. 
 Try as we might to foment controversy in our competitive and friendly group, we’re just not good at it. 
We did accomplish some differences of opinion on how to apply the RRS though, and I’ll point out a few for 
educational value, with the caveat I’m not much of a rules student. This was discussed at some length at our 
favorite restaurant, Puerto Vallarta, and I received a few positive comments that our skippers liked the rules 
discussion with a beer in front of them: 
 
Discussion #1 - Taking a Penalty & Significant Advantage: Bob and Steve had contact at an offset 
windward mark and Steve dutifully acknowledged and exonerated immediately. Bob had to do a turn too to 
extricate himself because of the contact to get around the mark, and Steve ended up about a boat length 
ahead as we left the mark. Bob reminded Steve he gained a significant advantage (moved from behind to 
ahead a few boat lengths) as a result of the contact, but Steve wasn’t having any of it because he “already did 
his turn”. Later at the restaurant we found the rule in Appendix E and Steve said oops, and as scorer I gave 
him a DNF for that race. See the rule below: 
 

E4.3 Taking a Penalty  
Rule 44.1 is changed to:  
A boat may take a One-Turn Penalty when she may have broken one or more rules of Part 2, or rule 31, in an incident while 
racing. However,  

(a) when she may have broken a rule of Part 2 and rule 31 in the same incident she need not take the penalty for 
breaking rule 31;  
(b) if the boat gained a significant advantage in the heat or race by her breach despite taking a penalty, her penalty 
shall be an additional One-Turn Penalty;  
(c) if the boat caused serious damage, or as a result of breaking a rule of Part 2 she caused another boat to become 
disabled and retire, her penalty shall be to retire.  

 
I’ll add that if you are still ahead after taking an additional penalty, you take another until you are no longer 
ahead.  

The (c) part of this rule happened to Joe Damico in San Diego recently. At US Nationals inadvertent 
contact between Joe and Larry Stiles forced Larry to retire for repairs. Joe handled it perfectly after the contact. 
He continued to take one-turn penalties while he waited for Larry to proceed. When Larry eventually retired as 
disabled, Joe retired per the rule and then he told the Race Committee what happened to support Larry 
receiving restitution, which he did. That defines good sportsmanship after an inadvertent mistake. 
 
Discussion #2 - RRS 17 and definitions Proper Course & Overlap: Bob and Bill had contact while both 
were running downwind, and Bill provided a reasonable description of RRS 17 claiming Bob sailed above 
proper course when he had no rights as the overlap was from clear astern – after Bill took a one-turn penalty. 
Bob thought it was a simple windward-leeward and windward Bill didn’t keep clear. To determine who was the 
give-away boat first review the rule and key definitions below: 
 

17 ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE  
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If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not 
sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she 
promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by 
rule 13 to keep clear.  

 
Proper Course A course a boat would sail to finish as soon as possible in the absence of the other boats referred to in the 
rule using the term. A boat has no proper course before her starting signal.  

 
Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap One boat is clear astern of another when her hull and equipment in normal position 
are behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat’s hull and equipment in normal position. The other boat is 
clear ahead. They overlap when neither is clear astern. However, they also overlap when a boat between them overlaps both. 
These terms always apply to boats on the same tack. They apply to boats on opposite tacks only when rule 18 applies 
between them or when both boats are sailing more than ninety degrees from the true wind.  
 
RRS 17 limits where a leeward boat can sail when near a keep-clear windward boat. If this went to a 

protest committee one of the first facts to determine is if Bob establish his overlap from clear astern as Bill 
attests. I don’t recall if there was an overlap when we were the critical two boat lengths apart, and in hindsight 
we both should have been thinking ahead and calling the overlap (or no overlap) then. This was long before 
the contact. In support of Bob I’ll note that at two boat lengths we were not sailing parallel like we were at 
contact. Bill had taken the longer west route on port that proved to have more wind from the NW in the end, 
and his bow was pointed more easterly than Bob’s. Bob (and Dennis Pittis) were first around the weather 
marks and they sailed most of the downwind leg wing and wing on a southerly on starboard on the short 
course straight at the mark. At the end of the leg the southerly petered out and Bob (and Dennis to leeward 
with bows even) gybed to port seeking pressure, and both were over-standing the mark to keep their boats 
moving. So, three of us were closing on the same port tack for a number of slow boat lengths, and Bill could 
have been ahead and Bob (and Dennis) could have still been overlapped at two boat lengths when you project 
the line from Bill’s stern that determines overlap. This is what we don’t know, and the take-away here is think 
ahead and call the overlap (or no overlap) at two boat lengths apart.  

If Bill was more rules savvy, just before two boat lengths he would luff as needed to break any overlap 
and announce “no overlap”, and then Bob would clearly be established as clear astern and 17 would be 
confirmed. It may help to know that the reason Bob wanted to sail ‘above proper course was to get separation 
from Dennis to gybe to starboard and head for the mark.  

 
Kudos to big Mike Hansow who showed early to set the buoys and Bob pulled the buoys and helped 

Mike put all the gear away for another day. Coulon is next – this coming Saturday…. 
  



 4 

August 16, 2018 
 
An IOM Flotation Experiment 
By Bruce Andersen and Bob Wells 

There has been a recent spate of IOM sinkings. Most common and frustrating causes are deck patches 
becoming dislodged or forgetting to attach pot lids in the pressure of tuning and repairing in time for the next 
heat. Occasionally a hull is cracked from a collision significantly enough to allow water intrusion, but that is less 
frequent thanks to our bow bumper requirement and the high quality work of our builders in thin shell fiberglass.  

We make serious investments in our IOMs, and we thought the idea of adding internal flotation devices 
should be explored. We were curious how a flooded IOM acts with simple internal flotation. For this experiment 
we used Bob’s Topiko, stripped the electronics out of it, added an old rig, and added weight to bring it up to 4 
kg. For flotation we used 3” x 6” air pack bags out of an old Amazon box as shown below: 
 

 
 

 
 

In honor of George Pedrick, whose V10 sinking at the 2017 Garland US Nats prompted this article, we 
will arbitrarily refer to each of these 3” x 6” air bags as 1 Pedrick Unit (PU). This is in no way a reflection on 
George’s bathing habits. The following images describe this simple flotation experiment: 
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With no PU’s inserted, the boat lies flat. The deck patches are all removed so there is no trapped air inside. In a real life sinking 
there would be deck patches, and some air could be trapped inside initially, so the boat’s attitude on the bottom could be 
something like the images below initially. However, Bob noted when his Britpop sank in high winds from an aft deck patch leak, 
it was found 10 days later flat on the bottom in silty black water. All Images by Bruce Andersen. 
 

 
With 2 PU’s added in the bow, the attitude lifts noticeably. In a real life sinking with deck patches installed, a little higher attitude 
is initially possible from additional air trapped inside the hull. 
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With 4 PU’s (2 in the bow and 2 at the keel trunk) the attitude is more upright on the bottom.  
 

 
With 5 PU’s inserted (same as above, plus 1 under mainsheet post) it stands straight up on the bottom! 
 
5 PU’s is about the maximum you can fit into an IOM and even if you could squeeze more in, it would not float 
off the bottom. There is still value in adding flotation because a boat sitting upright on the bottom is easier to spot 
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than one lying flat, especially if it lies on a dark silty bottom where it can disappear from sight. An upright boat 
will be easier to snag with a small hook and line. 
 
Negatives? Adding flotation adds some complexity and the internals on some IOMs do not accommodate 
flotation bags well. Keeping the flotation separate from the boat’s moving internal parts is key, and if water gets 
inside then removing the flotation will hasten drying. At that point you may be tempted to leave them out, which 
defeats the purpose. 
 
There is also the legality question. Does the “closed” class rule allow internal flotation? We don’t know. 
Independently, Barry Fox for the Canadian NCA submitted on 3/24/18 a resolution to IOM ICA to investigate 
wording to allow internal flotation that does not have an effect on hull performance. The suggestion was to add 
a new section C5.5 or D2.6 to allow this. We should know in the not too distant future. 
 
We want to thank Barry Fox and John Ball for contributions to this article. 
 


